Very sunken back

Everything Blue Tongues! Have a question? Just got a BTS and want to introduce yourself? This is the place!
Forum rules
In this forum all are welcome to ask blue tongue skink-related questions, share information, ideas, tips, experiences, and pictures with fellow BTS enthusiasts.
If you are wondering if your BTS is acting normally or might be sick, this is where you can get help with that.
This is also where you can have some FUN while sharing the enjoyment you get from your blueys!
BananaMilk
Bluey Beginner
Bluey Beginner

Very sunken back

Postby BananaMilk » Sun Feb 12, 2023 11:05 am

Hello all:) Ive recently adopted a possibly Irian Jaya or Merauke, I'm fairly new to reptiles in general and have primarily owned birds and a leopard gecko and while picking up food for my gecko at petco came across a skink with possible MBD or has a spinal deformity Im not sure which. I of course had to adopt the little guy and try to give him the best life I can provide, his condition appears purely cosmetic and does not effect his mobility eating or deification however if there is a way to correct or lessen the sunken back appearance Im sure his organs would appreciate it:,) I will be getting X-rays on this guy within the week because I work at a vet clinic. Also any knowledge on what breed this guy id would be much appreciated as he was sold as a Tiliqua occipitalis. Thanks:)
Janella
ADMIN
ADMIN
Your Facebook name: Janella Poch

Re: Very sunken back

Postby Janella » Sun Feb 12, 2023 3:24 pm

Hi there and thanks for rescuing/saving this little guy. Can you post pictures so we can help identify the species and also see what is going on with the back? Thanks

Janella Poch
splashy07
ADMIN
ADMIN

Postby splashy07 » Tue Feb 14, 2023 6:10 am