New Halmahera Owner

Everything Blue Tongues! Have a question? Just got a BTS and want to introduce yourself? This is the place!
Forum rules
In this forum all are welcome to ask blue tongue skink-related questions, share information, ideas, tips, experiences, and pictures with fellow BTS enthusiasts.
If you are wondering if your BTS is acting normally or might be sick, this is where you can get help with that.
This is also where you can have some FUN while sharing the enjoyment you get from your blueys!
Princeofpita
Bluey Beginner
Bluey Beginner
Your Facebook name: Gus Gesteland

New Halmahera Owner

Postby Princeofpita » Thu Mar 25, 2021 8:26 pm

Hey all! So this post may be a little long but just looking for advice and tips!
I am new to reptile ownership (aside from fire bellied toads when I was little) and just got a new baby Halmahera. I was originally planning on getting a Northern but the place I went had just sold their older Northern. The guy helping me directed me to a new little Halmahera that he described to me as “essentially the same care requirements as a Northern.” I have come to find that he was wildly incorrect as far as husbandry recommendation. The tank I have was originally set up for a Northern but I am working to remedy that. I have a Vision 332 (36x28x18) and am using cypress mulch mixed with coco fiber as a substrate. I have a few various hides throughout the tank with one filled with sphagnum most for humidity. His hot spot is currently at 100 with an ambient temp of 80s dropping to the mid 70s on the cool side. I got him two days ago and have been able to keep the humidity in the 50-60 range but I have a mister on the way so hopefully that will remedy the low humidity. My only issue is that he just started shedding and I am worried about his cute little toes. Any tips on keeping the humidity up until the mister gets here aside from a humid hide and hand misting? Any suggestions on any of my current husbandry would be awesome as well! I just