Swollen scale right after brumation!

Everything Blue Tongues! Have a question? Just got a BTS and want to introduce yourself? This is the place!
Forum rules
In this forum all are welcome to ask blue tongue skink-related questions, share information, ideas, tips, experiences, and pictures with fellow BTS enthusiasts.
If you are wondering if your BTS is acting normally or might be sick, this is where you can get help with that.
This is also where you can have some FUN while sharing the enjoyment you get from your blueys!
araednia
Bluey Beginner
Bluey Beginner

Swollen scale right after brumation!

Postby araednia » Sat Feb 08, 2020 4:21 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting! I’m typing this on my phone so I apologize for any formatting or spelling errors. Also I call my baby a “she”, though I actually don’t know what her sex is.

My northern blue tongue skink (Ripley) just woke up today after 3 months of brumating. She’s 1 and a half years old, and completely disappeared for the entire 3 months. Everything seemed fine before her brumation started. I didn’t notice any wounds or signs of mouth rot, metabolic bone disease, etc. I feed her a varied diet of veggies (approved ones from the feeding chart) and different types of premium dog food. She also loves corn so I give her a few kernels occasionally as a treat. I also give freeze dried gut loaded crickets or grasshoppers as a treat and dust her food with calcium once a week or every other week. She has a Uv bulb and I keep her humidity around 50-60%. She’s never had any problems shedding and has all her toesies. She’s also never suffered any wounds before. Her substrate is a mix of mostly ReptiChip Premium Coconut substrate from Amazon, with some cypress mulch (forest floor) and a bit of spaghnum moss. The substrate is probably around 4 inches deep. Her tank is 4ftx2ftx18in. She’s active and enjoys exploring my room.