I really want a skink. But I have questions.

Everything Blue Tongues! Have a question? Just got a BTS and want to introduce yourself? This is the place!
Forum rules
In this forum all are welcome to ask blue tongue skink-related questions, share information, ideas, tips, experiences, and pictures with fellow BTS enthusiasts.
If you are wondering if your BTS is acting normally or might be sick, this is where you can get help with that.
This is also where you can have some FUN while sharing the enjoyment you get from your blueys!
Skullblits
Bluey Beginner
Bluey Beginner

I really want a skink. But I have questions.

Postby Skullblits » Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:21 am

Hello I'm new to skinks. I literally only learned they existed 4 days ago.

Was at a pet shop and got to hold one. Fell in love with them.

But just a few questions. As Google isn't always the best.

Where they live.. What kind of viv is really good for a skink? I know they can get big and like to dig. But some suggestions on viv would be helpful.

Northern BTS need less humidity?
That's the one thing I would worrie about is the humidity.

And food. Do they need bugs?

Also I hear people say to feed them greens. But which type.

And they love fruit like bananas. But which others do they like?

And how much would you u give them?

Thanks for the help.
kingofnobbys
Bluey Devotee
Bluey Devotee

Re: I really want a skink. But I have questions.

Postby kingofnobbys » Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:23 am

Skullblits wrote:Hello I'm new to skinks. I literally only learned they existed 4 days ago.

Was at a pet shop and got to hold one. Fell in love with them.

But just a few questions. As Google isn't always the best.

Where they live.. What kind of viv is really good for a skink? I know they can get big and like to dig. But some suggestions on viv would be helpful.

Northern BTS need less humidity?
That's the one thing I would worrie about is the humidity.

And food. Do they need bugs?