Egernia stokesii

Feel free to post pictures, information, articles or anything else related to other skink species.
Forum rules
Topics may be anything to do with other skink species, keeping within the forum rules. Topics related to other lizard species, apart from skinks, are not permitted, but these can still be posted on the general off topic forum.
pets101
Bluey Beginner
Bluey Beginner

Egernia stokesii

Postby pets101 » Tue Jun 15, 2021 10:31 pm

I am new to Gidgee's. I am trying to figure out the best way to set up my animals to have success breeding them in the future. I have one group of yearlings that are siblings living in a 4x2 cage. They all seem to be doing well and getting along from what I can tell. Some of them seem to have sort of paired off where two skinks always occupy the same hide area in the cage and sleep together. When this type of behavior occurs does that mean the skinks have paired and are a male and female? Can they be split up and introduced to unrelated animals once they have bonded with each other?

I have another group (1.2) that I purchased as mom and her two adult offspring. Initially, I believe they all had been housed together but it turned out mom had been separated from her adult offspring a while ago after their father was lost. I had housed all three of the adults together in a larger enclosure with multiple basking spots. The mother would occupy the better of the two basking spots and chase away the more assertive offspring that would try and bask next to her. The other offspring would not come out at all to bask.