Some questions about owning a BTS

Everything Blue Tongues! Have a question? Just got a BTS and want to introduce yourself? This is the place!
Forum rules
In this forum all are welcome to ask blue tongue skink-related questions, share information, ideas, tips, experiences, and pictures with fellow BTS enthusiasts.
If you are wondering if your BTS is acting normally or might be sick, this is where you can get help with that.
This is also where you can have some FUN while sharing the enjoyment you get from your blueys!
Celozon
Bluey Beginner
Bluey Beginner

Some questions about owning a BTS

Postby Celozon » Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:53 am

Hey, I'm new here. I have a strong love for reptiles, and I've been looking into getting a BTS. Right now I'm still in the research phase, but I'd love to get some opinions on a few things. I have read the care sheet and done a decent amount of research already, but I've also never owned a reptile before and I'm completely new to this and still pretty clueless on a lot of things. I want to get all the info I need before getting a BTS so I can care for it properly. Right now, the plan would be to get a baby Northern, and have a 4x2 foot habitat. I havn't gotten to the point of picking out specific items, though I do have a list of things to look into. Most likely would not actually get one until closer to or after June. I took a look through the forum and didn't see anything for these questions, though apologies if there is and I just missed it.

I know Northerns don't need a lot of humidity, but do need some. I live in Florida and even inside the house the humidity is usually 50-60%. Would adding something for humidity be needed in this case? I still plan to monitor the humidity, but I'm wondering if anyone from places with high humidity have any experience with this. In addition, would a humid hide be needed if the humidity is already this high? Should I have one anyway?